SCI RAILDATA: free access for start-ups
DEEN

Worldwide railway electrification market with high volume despite budget constraints

Worldwide railway electrification market with high volume despite budget constraints

[18.02.2021] The current global market volume for railway electrification is approx. EUR 9.6 billion and is expected to grow at a CAGR of 0.7% per year until 2025. Therefore, the market maintains a high volume in spite of the COVID-19 pandemic and its neg

This reflects the trend towards e-mobility and the gradual shift away from diesel propulsion in rail transport as well. The market growth is generated by the increased electrification of existing diesel lines with growing operational demand.

The European Union wants to achieve net zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050. In December 2020, the EU member states agreed to amend their climate goals for 2030 to increasing their goal to emit less than 40% emissions compared to 1990 to at least less than 55%. The electrification of railway lines can be a part of the path to emission free mobility. Although railway electrification is a niche market within rail infrastructure, it is a growth market with positive long-term prospects.

Of about 1.3 million km of track worldwide, about 375,000 km are electrified, bringing the total volume to just under 30%. In the individual market regions, the degree of electrification varies between 1% (North America) and 57% (Western Europe). The degree of electrification in Asia has risen sharply in recent years. In 2013 it was 34%, four years later 47% and in 2020 already 55%. In addition to the high investments in both the new construction of railway lines and the electrification of diesel lines, India has also been a growth driver alongside China. In contrast, the development of the electrification level in European countries is very slow.

Different electricity systems have developed in the individual countries and regions over the course of history. Their concrete structural design is even more differentiated than the consideration of the electricity systems used would indicate. In the areas of railway electrification, this has led to the formation of medium-sized national markets with many regional suppliers, each of which is familiar with the national regulations and standards. This industrial structure favours niche suppliers in particular.

Siemens and Alstom are among the few international suppliers in the railway electrification sector. The Chinese state-owned companies CREC and CRRC dominate through high shares in the large Chinese market as well as increasing foreign orders in the regions of Africa, South America as well as in other Asian countries.

(copy 43)

(copy 44)

Market volumes, developments and opportunities for companies: The new market study "Railway Electrification - Global Market Trends 2021" provides current facts and assessments on all aspects of rail electrification. The study is published by SCI Verkehr GmbH, an international consultancy specialising in railway technology and logistics.

The MultiClient-Studie „Railway Electrification – Global Market Trends 2021“ is now available in English from SCI Verkehr GmbH.

SCI Verkehr GmbH

Tel: +49 221 931 78 0

E-mail: s.muellersci.de

 

****GeorgRinger\News\Domain\Model\FileReference:810**

SCI RAILDATA: gratis Zugang für Start ups
DEEN

Weltmarkt Bahnelektrifizierung – Trotz Budgetlimits weiterhin hohes Marktvolumen

Weltmarkt Bahnelektrifizierung – Trotz Budgetlimits weiterhin hohes Marktvolumen

[18.02.2021] Das aktuelle Marktvolumen für Bahnelektrifizierung weltweit liegt bei ca. 9,6 Mrd. EUR und wird mit einer CAGR von 0,7 % jährlich bis 2025 wachsen. Somit bleibt der Markt auf sehr hohem Niveau, trotz der COVID-19 Pandemie und ihre negativen F

Damit spiegeln sich auch im Schienenverkehr der Trend zur E-Mobilität und die schrittweise Abkehr vom Dieselantrieb wider. Das Marktwachstum generiert sich dabei aus der verstärkten Elektrifizierung vorhandener Dieselstrecken mit wachsender Betriebsnachfrage.

Bis 2050 sollen alle Treibhausgasemissionen in der Europäischen Union weitestgehend vermieden werden. Im Dezember 2020 haben sich die EU Staats- und Regierungschefs darauf verständigt, das EU-Klimaziel für das Jahr 2030 von aktuell mindestens 40 auf mindestens 55 Prozent gegenüber 1990 anzuheben. Ein Teilstück auf dem Weg zur emissionsfreien Mobilität kann die Elektrifizierung der Eisenbahnstrecken sein: Bahnelektrifizierung ist zwar ein Nischenmarkt innerhalb der Schieneninfrastruktur, aber ein Wachstumsmarkt mit langfristigen positiven Perspektiven.

Von etwa 1,3 Mio. km Fahrweg weltweit sind etwa 375 Tsd. km elektrifiziert, das Gesamtvolumen beträgt damit knapp 30%. In den einzelnen Marktregionen schwankt der Elektrifizierungsgrad zwischen 1 % (Nordamerika) und 57 % (Westeuropa). Der Elektrifizierungsgrad in Asien ist in den letzten Jahren stark angestiegen. 2013 betrug er noch 34%, vier Jahre später 47% und im Jahr 2020 bereits 55%. Neben den hohen Investitionen sowohl im Neubau von Bahnstrecken als auch in der Elektrifizierung von Dieselstrecken war Indien neben China ebenfalls ein Wachstumsmotor. Die Entwicklung des Elektrifzierungsgrades in europäischen Ländern verläuft dagegen sehr langsam.

In der historischen Entwicklung sind unterschiedliche Stromsysteme in den einzelnen Staaten und Regionen gewachsen. Ihre konkrete bauliche Ausgestaltung ist noch wesentlich differenzierter, als es die Betrachtung der verwendeten Stromsysteme ausweist. Dies hat in den Bereichen Bahnelektrifizierung zur Bildung mittelständisch geprägter nationaler Märkte mit vielen regionalen Anbietern geführt, die jeweils mit den nationalen Vorschriften und Standards vertraut sind. Diese Industriestruktur begünstigt vor allem Nischenanbieter.

Zu den wenigen internationalen Anbietern im Bereich Bahnelektrifizierung gehören Siemens und Alstom. Die chinesischen Staatskonzernen CREC und CRRC dominieren durch hohe Anteile im großen chinesischen Markt sowie zunehmende Auslandsaufträge in den Regionen Afrika, Südamerika sowie in weiteren asiatischen Ländern.

Marktvolumina, Entwicklungen und die Chancen für Unternehmen: Die neue Marktstudie „Railway Electrification – Global Market Trends 2021“ liefert aktuelle Fakten und Einschätzungen rund um die Elektrifizierung der Schiene. Herausgeber ist - die auf Bahntechnik und Logistik spezialisierte internationale Fachberatung - SCI Verkehr GmbH.

Die MultiClient-Studie „Railway Electrification – Global Market Trends 2021“ ist in englischer Sprache ab sofort bei der SCI Verkehr GmbH erhältlich.

 

Kontakt:

SCI Verkehr GmbH

Susanne Müller

Tel: +49 221 9317820

E-mail: s.muellersci.de

****GeorgRinger\News\Domain\Model\FileReference:810**