SCI RAILDATA: free access for start-ups
DEEN

Neue Studie von SCI Verkehr GmbH „Market Report Rail Vehicle Maintenance Europe 2020“

(copy 40)

SCI Verkehr expects the COVID 19 crisis to lead to increased competitive pressure between providers in the rail vehicle maintenance sector over the next five years: On the one hand, due to declining new purchases, more manufacturers are pushing into the after-sales market, as they can sell fewer new vehicles. On the other hand, due to the lack of new rolling stock, the railways will have to modernise more old rolling stock and will provide these services in-house for the benefit of their own workshop capacity utilisation. Currently, the railways themselves account for more than three quarters of the market share in the maintenance business. Depending on the country and transport sector, the share of manufacturers in the after-sales market is now as high as 20%, while independent maintenance providers only provide a small share of up to 5%.

 

(copy 42)

(copy 41)

Due to the COVID-19 crisis and the worsened economic situation, it is expected that large operators will tend to insource maintenance services in the coming years. In this way, they can optimise the utilisation of their own workshops and employees. Manufacturers who sell fewer new vehicles due to investment stops will also make more intensive efforts to win maintenance contracts. This increases the competitive pressure in the market in general and poses challenges in particular for independent maintenance providers.

In 2019, the total market volume for the European rail vehicle maintenance market amounted to approximately €19 billion.  SCI Verkehr forecasts an increase in turnover to 22 billion euros by 2024. The main drivers for this growth are maintenance work on high-speed vehicles and electric railcars.
In the crisis year 2020, it was primarily the operational maintenance that initially suffered setbacks, as the thinned-out timetables significantly reduced the mileage of the vehicles. In the medium term, however, orders in the maintenance market are expected to increase again. This is because the more difficult overall economic situation is leading to restrained investment in new purchases. Instead of decommissioning, older rolling stock will then have to be increasingly modernised. In addition, diesel railcars and diesel locomotives, some of which are very extensively converted and equipped with alternative drive systems, will have to be modernised. Furhtermore railways and leasing companies are planning major retrofitting projects on freight wagons to install innovative technologies. Decarbonisation strategies also lead overall to a shift of transport to the railways, thus generating growth in the transport market and, indirectly, a positive effect in the maintenance sector.
With regard to the different transport sectors, passenger transport in 2020 saw a larger slump in freight transport, but on the other hand, passenger transport in Europe is also supported by more state subsidies. This will better compensate for the loss of passenger revenues in the passenger vehicle maintenance sector. However, this is not the case at city and local level, where there is a lack of public funding. In the freight transport sector, the large number of private providers is facing challenges in the face of the crisis, but can at least expect a faster recovery of transport volumes and a related higher demand for maintenance than the maintenance providers in passenger transport.

The new market report "Rail vehicle maintenance - Market trends in the after-sales market in Europe" will be available in English in the SCI Shop from November 26th, 2020. A data annex in Excel format is also available for the study, which presents all the figures contained in the study in a transparent and clear manner.

Stay informed about the latest news from the railway industry and follow us on the social networks.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

Susanne Mueller

Tel.: +49 (2 21) 9 31 78 20

Mail: s.mueller@sci.de

SCI RAILDATA: gratis Zugang für Start ups
DEEN

Neue Studie von SCI Verkehr GmbH „Market Report Rail Vehicle Maintenance Europe 2020“

Aufgrund der COVID-19 Krise und der verschärften wirtschaftliche Situation wird in den kommenden Jahren erwartet, dass große Betreiber zum Insourcing von Instandhaltungsleistungen tendieren. Auf diese Weise können sie die Auslastung der eigenen Werkstätten und Beschäftigten optimieren. Auch Hersteller, die aufgrund von Investitionsstops weniger Neufahrzeuge verkaufen, werden sich intensiver um Instandhaltungsaufträge bemühen. Das erhöht den Wettbewerbsdruck im Markt allgemein und stellt vor allem die unabhängigen Instandhaltungsanbieter vor Herausforderungen.
Im Jahr 2019 betrug das gesamte Marktvolumen für den Europäischen Instandhaltungsmarkt von Schienenfahrzeugen ca. 19 Mrd. Euro.  SCI Verkehr prognostiziert bis 2024 einen Anstieg der Umsätze auf 22 Mrd. Euro. Haupttreiber für das Wachstum sind Instandhaltungsarbeiten an Hochgeschwindigkeitsfahrzeugen und elektrischen Triebwagen.

Im Krisenjahr 2020 musste zunächst vor allem die betriebsnahe Instandhaltung Rückschläge hinnehmen, da die ausgedünnten Fahrpläne die Laufleistung der Fahrzeuge erheblich abgesenkt haben. Mittelfristig gesehen dürften jedoch die Aufträge im Instandhaltungsmarkt wieder zunehmen. Denn die schwierigere gesamtwirtschaftliche Situation führt zu verhaltenen Investitionen in Neubeschaffungen. Anstelle von Ausmusterungen muss dann zunehmend älteres Rollmaterial modernisiert werden. Hinzu kommen teilweise sehr umfängliche Umbaumaßnahmen von Dieseltriebwagen und Diesellokomotiven, die mit alternativen Antrieben ausgestattet werden. Zusätzlich planen Bahnen und Leasingunternehmen große Nachrüstungsprojekte an Güterwagen zur Installation innovativer Technologien. Dekarbonisierungsstrategien führen insgesamt auch zu einer Verlagerung von Transporten auf die Schiene und bewirken somit ein Wachstum im Transportmarkt und damit indirekt einen positiven Effekt im Instandhaltungssektor.

Bezüglich der verschiedenen Verkehrssektoren verzeichnete der Personenverkehr 2020 einen größeren Einbruch als der Güterverkehr, auf der anderen Seite wird der Personenverkehr in Europa jedoch auch durch mehr staatliche Subventionen unterstützt. Dadurch können die Verluste aus Fahrgasteinnahmen im Instandhaltungssektor von Personenfahrzeugen besser kompensiert werden. Dies gilt jedoch nicht auf städtischer und kommunaler Ebene, wo es an öffentlichen Mitteln fehlt. Im Güterverkehr steht die große Anzahl privater Anbieter angesichts der Krise vor Herausforderungen, kann aber zumindest mit einer schnelleren Erholung der Transportvolumina und einer damit verbundenen höheren Wartungsnachfrage rechnen als die Instandhalter im Personenverkehr.

Der neue Marktreport „Rail Vehicle Maintenance – Market trends in the After-Sales Market in Europe“ ist ab 26. November 2020 in englischer Sprache im SCI Shop erhältlich. Für die Studie steht ebenfalls ein Datenanhang im Excel-Format zur Verfügung, der alle in der Studie enthaltenen Zahlen transparent und übersichtlich aufbereitet.
Bleiben Sie über aktuelle Nachrichten rund um die Bahnindustrie stets informiert und folgen Sie uns auf den sozialen Netzwerken.

Rückfragen gerne an

Susanne Müller

Tel.: 02 21-9 31 78 20

Mail: s.mueller@sci.de